A Treasured Hawaii Experience

Book by phone: +1 (877) 782-5662

Kahalu'u Hale

Guest Rating:

Vacation rental house. Sleeps 6, 2 bedrooms, 3 bathrooms. No pets allowed.

Kailua Kona, HI 96740 United States

This beautiful, hand-crafted, custom home, with open-beam, cedar ceilings, and air-conditioned bedrooms, is the perfect getaway vacation site. The home is located just minutes from famous Kahalu’u Beach State Park. Kahalu’u provides access to the best snorkeling on the island and is the place for encounters with the graceful green Hawaiian Sea Turtle. Enjoy spectacular sunset views or watch the local surfers by Saint Peters Church. The property is quiet with sounds of the surf, cooing of the doves, and privacy with no direct neighbors to any side.

Both bedroom pods feature wall unit air conditioning for your comfort. This home features Pod styling. For those who are not familiar there are separate units that are not interconnected. This means the downstairs bedroom is inaccessible from the upstairs bedroom. This also means the living room which acts as the third sleeping space is semi detached as well. All of the pathways between each pod are covered. In essence you are surrounded by mature landscaping that allows for privacy while utilizing the over sized lanai which features outdoor dining and BBQ all the while creating a feeling you are in amongst the trees. Enjoy the gorgeous Kahalu'u Bay coastline boasting tropical breezes and phenomenal views.

The free-form pool provides for that refreshing dip. This property has Hawaiian-made lava rock walls dating from the 13th, 19th, and 21st centuries. An archaeological site, dating to the 1200s, forms the back yard.

If you are seeking local markets and historical context, downtown Kailua-Kona is approximately a 10 minute drive for easy access to shopping, businesses, waterfront restaurants and hotels. Watch the people and the cruise ships come and go from the Kailua Pier. Visit the famous Farmer's Market. Enjoy a shave ice or a cup of Kona coffee, have a light snack or a gourmet meal, buy an inexpensive souvenir or a piece of fine art, book an activity, go for a swim or hang out on the many beautiful beaches.

Up the coast is a busy marina with Hawaii's best scuba diving, big-game fishing, kayaking, dolphin and whale watching and other ocean activities. Kahalu’u Hale is conveniently located, a great home base to explore the many wonders of the Big Island including Volcano National Park, Mauna Kea Observatory, coffee and macadamia nut farms, artist communities, and more!

This property is equipped with Free WiFi.
HAWAII TAX ID: TA-008-776-2944-01

Rooms and Amenities
Property Type House, 2 story
Unit Code Kahaluu
Beds 2 queen beds, 1 sleeper sofa
Bathrooms 3 bathrooms
Rooms Sleeps 6
Pets No pets allowed.
Living A/C, Ironing Board, Linens, Washer & Dryer, Hair Dryer
Business Nearby Post Office
Entertainment Cable Television, Internet access, Television, dvd player, WiFi Internet, Flat Screen Television
Kitchen Fully Equipped Kitchen
Outdoor Art Studios, ATV Rental, Balcony, BBQ Grill, Beach Chairs, Beach Walking, Beachcombing, Biking, Boating, Boogie Boarding, Coffee Plantations, Deck, Deep Sea Fishing, Fishing, Galleries, Jet Ski Rental, Ocean Kayaking, Outdoor Shower, Patio, Sight-Seeing, Snorkeling , Surfing, Swimming, Walkway to Water, Wind Surfing, Scuba Diving, Manta Ray Diving, Whale Watching, Dolphin Watching, Dinner Cruises, Snorkel Trips, Private Pool
Family Beach , Library, Movie Theatre, Playground
Convenience Craft Shopping, Medical Services Nearby, Nearby Grocery, On-Site Massage Available, Shopping, Snorkel Beach
Geographic Exceptional Sunrises, Exceptional Sunsets, Exceptional Views, Near Beach, Ocean view
Average Manager Rating (Based on 2280 reviews)

Overall satisfaction

Services from rental manager
Average Vacation Rental Rating (Based on 14 reviews)

Overall satisfaction

Cleanliness

Location

Property condition
100 % of our reviewers would recommend this vacation rental.

Vacation Rental Reviews

  • Kahalu'u Hale House

    Stayed 7 days ending in August, 2018

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    a guest from Carlsbad, CA recommends this vacation rental

    Fantastic price for the location which is within walking distance of Kahalu'u Bay, one of the 3 best snorkeling spots on the Big Island. The view was incredible. The pool was wonderful. It was refreshing to have AC in the bedrooms but would have been nice for the living area with fold-out sofa as well since night-time temps stayed in the mid to high 70s. Excellent appliances. Excellent water pressure. Partially shaded parking under the deck for our rental vehicle. Easy drive to downtown Kona and very close to Keauhou. It's a little tricky getting use to the bedrooms being detached from the main house but as long as you have older, responsible children, it's fine. Enjoyed all the supplies in the laundry room - cooler, laundry basket, soap, dryer sheets, beach chairs, masks and snorkels, beach umbrellas, pool noodles, woven mats. Thanks for the Kona coffee Boundless Hawaii - it lasted all week!

    • Manager Responded on 8/15/2018

      Aloha and thank you for the review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay overall and took advantage of all the amenities the property had to offer. We hope to see you again soon. Please remember to book directly with Boundless Hawaii for the best available rate. Mahalo!

  •  
  • Relaxing Home!

    Stayed 8 days ending in July, 2018

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    Bernice H from Camarillo, CA recommends this vacation rental

    Great house with a balcony that is so relaxing to watch the ocean from!! Birds galore day and night. And gecko's too! Nighttime ocean waves crashing! Fun pool!

    • Manager Responded on 7/23/2018

      We sincerely hope to see your group again soon. Simply remember that the best possible rates are found directly through Boundless Hawaii.

  •  
  • Amazing Pod Style Home with pool across Kaahulu Bay

    Stayed 3 days ending in June, 2018

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    a guest from Waikoloa, HI recommends this vacation rental

    We live on big island and a group of us decided to do a stay-cation. This pod style house suited our group's needs PERFECTLY! There were 6 of us and the detached rooms provided privacy and comfort. We unanimously agreed this house MADE our vacation. We rarely left the house! The pool was clean and we swam in it day and night. Tall trees and well maintained lush landscape provided privacy and the feeling of being nestled in a tree house as we sat on the large lanai (patio) watching the activities of Kaahulu bay and the sunsets. The AC in the 2 bedrooms provided relief from the humidity of Kona and a peaceful sleep. Kitchen was clean and well stocked. As locals who live here, we dream of staying in this house as a part of our annual stay-cation. Five stars all around!

    • Manager Responded on 7/6/2018

      Wonderful to hear that the home made your vacation! We sincerely hope to see your group again soon. Simply remember that the best possible rates are found directly through Boundless Hawaii.

  •  
  • Quiet home with a nice pool

    Stayed 4 days ending in May, 2018

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    Kimberly H from Ferndale, MI recommends this vacation rental

    We loved this unique home near Kona. It was in a good location with many nearby amenities. The home was very comfortable to stay in and we enjoyed the fact that the bedroom was separate from the main living space.

    • Manager Responded on 6/14/2018

      We thank you for posting this 5 star review of your experience at the property! We'd love it if you returned, don't forget return clients are entitled to a 10% returning client discount!

  •  
  • Great Spot

    Stayed 3 days ending in May, 2018

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    a guest from Santa Barbara, CA recommends this vacation rental

    The pictures perhaps don't do this justice particularly from the front deck.
    Whilst the accommodation is not brand new and flash the 4 of us found it hard to find what other previous renters where complaining about.

    • Manager Responded on 5/31/2018

      Thank you for your feed back! We're happy to hear the home lived up to your expectations and that you enjoyed the spacious Lanai. We encourage you to book through Boundless Hawaii for the best possible rates!

  •  
  • Loved it!

    Stayed 4 days ending in April, 2018

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    Michelle H from Long Beach, CA recommends this vacation rental

    Awesome location, amazing views, unique, very private, fun yet super chill vibes! The separation of the 2 master bedrooms is great for couples or those who just prefer to have their own space. The main living area also has a full bathroom with shower so the space can also be used as a third master. The lanai is so great for sitting out on admiring the view and local surfers. Pool in the back is super clean and private. There were lots of geckos but they were cute and harmless and helped keeps the bugs away. It’s all part of the tropical experience!

    • Manager Responded on 5/1/2018

      Mahalo for reviewing your experience at Kahalu'u Hale! We'd love to host you again, we encourage you to contact Boundless Hawaii directly for the best possible pricing.

  •  
  • Fabulous Stay

    Stayed 14 days ending in April, 2018

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    Cheryl B from Calgary, AB recommends this vacation rental

    We had a very wonderful holiday at the Kahalu'u Hale home. The house is quiet and well situated. Easy to find. Of course, it is also very close to the best snokeling on the island and that is a bonus in itself. We used the pool almost every day. Great way to unwind after a long day of exploring the island, which we did a lot of in the 2 weeks we were there. The view from the lanai is amazing, the sunsets could not be beat. There is a supermarket close by and if your lucky a weekend fresh market in the same mall. Dining is also close by.

    Very few small things. We arrived late and the house was not truly set up for our arrival. We emailed and it was corrected the next morning. They also have a termite problem (but you are in a hot tropical place, it is expected). We did find that the beach towels were a bit old and tired and ended up buying our own. We also purchased a cooler and left that behind, you are welcome. :)

    Other than that, the house has everything you could need.

    Enjoy your stay, we truly did.

    • Manager Responded on 7/6/2018

      We're sorry to hear that you experienced a few issues while staying at the Kahalu'u Hale, however glad to hear it didn't take away from the overall experience! We sincerely hope to see your group again soon. Simply remember that the best possible rates are found directly through Boundless Hawaii.

  •  
  • Great location, close to the beach AND you get your own pool.

    Stayed 7 days ending in March, 2018

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    a guest from San Diego, CA recommends this vacation rental

    My family (four adults and one child) stayed here for a week. We thoroughly enjoyed out time and would definitely stay here again. Notable aspects of this home are the location (close to one of the best snorkeling beaches this side of the island) and the convenience of having a swimming pool in the very comfortable back yard. Being a two bedroom property, it was cosy with 5 guest but we managed to accommodate everyone using the sofa bed in the living room. Unfortunately this required furniture re-arragnment every day for set up/take down. As a result I would recommend only counting on this being a two bedroom/four person property. The property is about 20 years old so some finishes/furnishing are due to be updated; I understand these are planned for the near future. The only negative was that there were ants in one of the rooms. The management team we very prompt in addressing this but complete resolution takes time and this did not happen during the course of our stay.

    • Manager Responded on 4/17/2018

      Dawn, we're sorry to hear you've had to endure some of the local wildlife finding their way into the home. It seem the pros outweighed the cons in this case! The owners of the property and Boundless Hawaii constantly improve upon the property, and will absolutely consider your constructive feedback. Can't wait to show you what we've done with the place in the next few years!

  •  
  • Living Aloha

    Stayed 7 days ending in February, 2018

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    a guest from Port Angeles, WA recommends this vacation rental

    We're a returning guest, and look forward to our next stay.

    • Manager Responded on 3/5/2018

      Mahalo Getta for the stellar review! We look forward to your inevitable return!

  •  
  • Kahalu'u Hale Paradise

    Stayed 8 days ending in January, 2018

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    a guest from Oak Park, IL recommends this vacation rental

    This place is a magical experience from first glimpse of the property. The landscaping is beautiful, the pool is inviting, and walking upstairs to the lanai is like entering a tree house. Everything needed is provided. The kitchen and laundry room are stocked with essentials. The bedrooms include toiletries in the event that you forgot to bring something (shaving cream, razors, sun screen, etc...) Even beach towels are provided, which is unusual in a vacation rental. The upstairs views are superb. We have not stayed in a more beautiful or accommodating rental anywhere in the Hawaiian islands. This is a fantastic location -- literally down the driveway to get to one of the top three snorkeling locations on the island. We had one small problem with the refrigerator, and the property management company addressed it immediately. They even called back to thank us for alerting them to the problem and see if we were satisfied that it had been resolved. We highly recommend this vacation rental.

    • Manager Responded on 1/19/2018

      Mahalo for your response! We so appreciate your feed back and I am sure other renters of the home will as well. We encourage you to return to take advantage of our returning customer discount!

  •  
  • A Family Christmas Vacation Away from the Cold

    Stayed 7 days ending in December, 2017

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    a guest from Haddonfield, NJ recommends this vacation rental

    Overall, we were pleased with the property -- especially the thoughtful landscaping, the gorgeous view from the deck, and the optimal location. The short proximity to snorkeling at Kahalu'u Beach can't be beat, and the house offered an ease of getting from the house to points north/south from Kona. I wish I had known in advance about the upstairs/downstairs set-up, which was not clear to me from the online description. This type of house might be ideal for two couples, but it proved a bit challenging for a family, as it meant our children had to stay alone on a different floor from us. Please consider advertising that more clearly. The pool being unheated meant we could not use it for several of the days because of the colder temperatures, which was a bit of a disappointment. Also, the owners may want to offer more guest-friendly amenities like board games, snorkeling gear/towels, and kitchen staples/supplies. (For example: There were only 3 regular sized beach towels, and no snorkeling sets.)

    • Manager Responded on 1/11/2018

      Thank you for taking the time to review your experience with us! I am sorry to hear you found the property description to be ambiguous, we have since altered it for more clarity. As for the beach gear, we have a supply of those amenities in the laundry room, however it is ever changing as it is something the owner of the home does not supply but rather the previous guests. I am a bit surprised to hear the pool temperature was not within a comfortable range for you and your family, however this season can be a bit cooler in the evening hours. We encourage you to return to the Big Island and consider Boundless Hawaii so we may offer you a returning client discount.

  •  
  • Wonderful Stay

    Stayed 5 days ending in December, 2017

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    Yvonne T from Corvallis, MT recommends this vacation rental

    We traveled with another couple. It was great with the 2 private masters. Loved the grounds and the relaxed feeling. Will come back and already miss the geckos.

    • Manager Responded on 12/20/2017

      Thank you for your wonderful review! We love when guests share details to enhance the next guest's experience. We're happy that you enjoyed your time; we would love to host you for your next visit. Please stay with us again for a 10% discount as a returning guest!

  •  
  • Great spot on Kona

    Stayed 5 days ending in October, 2017

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    Michael N from San Diego, CA recommends this vacation rental

    Wonderful stay across from Kahal'u State Park. Private pool nice for cooling off in the afternoons. A/C in the bedrooms for comfortable night sleeping.

    • Manager Responded on 10/31/2017

      Thank you for visiting the Kahalu'u Hale! We're happy that you enjoyed your time in the home, a little AC certainly helps on warm nights. We would be happy to host you for your next visit, please let us know when you return to Kona and we will gladly offer a 10% discount.

  •  
  • Overall great rental property

    Stayed 5 days ending in September, 2017

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    Courtney D from Seattle, WA recommends this vacation rental

    Good central location for the activities we wanted to take part in. It was nice and quiet, pretty private lot. We were able to go to sleep and wake up to the sound of birds in the trees around us which was great.

    The deck was nice, good for watching sunsets.

    The laundry room was an added bonus.

    My only complaint is that one of the bathrooms attached to a bedroom didn't have a door.

    • Manager Responded on 10/31/2017

      Aloha and mahalo for taking the time to leave your review. This home is very special in the way that it offers visitors a peaceful and uniquely Hawaii experience without leaving town! We are happy that you enjoyed your time and would love to host you for your next trip. Please let us know when you return to redeem your 10% discount.

  •  
Getting your rate Getting your rate...
1. Select Your Dates to Check Availability

Click calendar to set checkin/checkout dates. clear calendar

 Unavailable  Selected  Available  Checkin only  Checkout only
2. Review Dates and Rates

Select/Confirm the number of travelers to get a rate quote.

: :
Base Rent:
Promo Savings: Remove
Discounted Rent:
Fees & Taxes:*
Total Price:
:
:
What's this?

A promo code is for special discounts and may have been provided to you in either a newsletter, email or other correspondence from the manager or owner of this property.

*Click 'Continue Booking' to view details of fees & taxes

To request information about booking this vacation rental, please fill out the form below.


Sorry, we encountered the following error(s):

  • Unable to process request.
loading Sending Email...
Your email has been sent successfully!

Sorry, we encountered the following error(s):

  • Unable to process request.
loading Sending Email...
Your email has been sent successfully!
19.581332,-155.966125

Boundless Hawaii, LLC 75-5865 Walua Road Suite F1 Kailua Kona, Hawaii 96740 +1 (877) 782-5662 reservations@boundlesshawaii.com

© 1999 - 2018 | Powered By Escapia Vacation Rental Software | Terms of Use

Logon