A Treasured Hawaii Experience

Book by phone: +1 (877) 782-5662

Kahalu'u Hale

Guest Rating:

Vacation rental house. Sleeps 6, 2 bedrooms, 3 bathrooms. No pets allowed.

Kailua Kona, HI 96740 United States

This beautiful, hand-crafted, custom home, with open-beam, cedar ceilings, and air-conditioned bedrooms, is the perfect getaway vacation site. The home is located just minutes from famous Kahalu’u Beach State Park. Kahalu’u provides access to the best snorkeling on the island and is the place for encounters with the graceful green Hawaiian Sea Turtle. Enjoy spectacular sunset views or watch the local surfers by Saint Peters Church. The property is quiet with sounds of the surf, cooing of the doves, and privacy with no direct neighbors to any side.

Both bedroom pods feature wall unit air conditioning for your comfort. This home features Pod styling. For those who are not familiar there are separate units that are not interconnected. This means the downstairs bedroom is inaccessible from the upstairs bedroom. This also means the living room which acts as the third sleeping space is semi detached as well. All of the pathways between each pod are covered. In essence you are surrounded by mature landscaping that allows for privacy while utilizing the over sized lanai which features outdoor dining and BBQ all the while creating a feeling you are in amongst the trees. Enjoy the gorgeous Kahalu'u Bay coastline boasting tropical breezes and phenomenal views.

The free-form pool provides for that refreshing dip. This property has Hawaiian-made lava rock walls dating from the 13th, 19th, and 21st centuries. An archaeological site, dating to the 1200s, forms the back yard.

If you are seeking local markets and historical context, downtown Kailua-Kona is approximately a 10 minute drive for easy access to shopping, businesses, waterfront restaurants and hotels. Watch the people and the cruise ships come and go from the Kailua Pier. Visit the famous Farmer's Market. Enjoy a shave ice or a cup of Kona coffee, have a light snack or a gourmet meal, buy an inexpensive souvenir or a piece of fine art, book an activity, go for a swim or hang out on the many beautiful beaches.

Up the coast is a busy marina with Hawaii's best scuba diving, big-game fishing, kayaking, dolphin and whale watching and other ocean activities. Kahalu’u Hale is conveniently located, a great home base to explore the many wonders of the Big Island including Volcano National Park, Mauna Kea Observatory, coffee and macadamia nut farms, artist communities, and more!

Click Here for Virtual Tour


HAWAII TAX ID: TA-008-776-2944-01

Rooms and Amenities
Property Type House, 2 story
Unit Code Kahaluu
Beds 2 queen beds, 1 sleeper sofa
Bathrooms 3 bathrooms
Rooms Sleeps 6
Pets No pets allowed.
Living A/C, Ironing Board, Linens, Washer & Dryer, Hair Dryer
Business Nearby Post Office
Entertainment Cable Television, Internet access, Television, dvd player, WiFi Internet, Flat Screen Television
Kitchen Fully Equipped Kitchen
Outdoor Art Studios, ATV Rental, Balcony, BBQ Grill, Beach Chairs, Beach Walking, Beachcombing, Biking, Boating, Boogie Boarding, Coffee Plantations, Deck, Deep Sea Fishing, Fishing, Galleries, Jet Ski Rental, Ocean Kayaking, Outdoor Shower, Patio, Sight-Seeing, Snorkeling , Surfing, Swimming, Walkway to Water, Wind Surfing, Scuba Diving, Manta Ray Diving, Whale Watching, Dolphin Watching, Dinner Cruises, Snorkel Trips, Private Pool
Family Beach , Library, Movie Theatre, Playground
Convenience Area Fitness Center, Craft Shopping, Medical Services Nearby, Nearby Grocery, On-Site Massage Available, Shopping, Snorkel Beach
Geographic Exceptional Sunrises, Exceptional Sunsets, Exceptional Views, Near Beach, Ocean view
Average Manager Rating (Based on 2125 reviews)

Overall satisfaction

Services from rental manager
Average Vacation Rental Rating (Based on 5 reviews)

Overall satisfaction

Cleanliness

Location

Property condition
100 % of our reviewers would recommend this vacation rental.

Vacation Rental Reviews

  • Kahalu'u Hale Paradise

    Stayed 8 days ending in January, 2018

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    a guest from Oak Park, IL recommends this vacation rental

    This place is a magical experience from first glimpse of the property. The landscaping is beautiful, the pool is inviting, and walking upstairs to the lanai is like entering a tree house. Everything needed is provided. The kitchen and laundry room are stocked with essentials. The bedrooms include toiletries in the event that you forgot to bring something (shaving cream, razors, sun screen, etc...) Even beach towels are provided, which is unusual in a vacation rental. The upstairs views are superb. We have not stayed in a more beautiful or accommodating rental anywhere in the Hawaiian islands. This is a fantastic location -- literally down the driveway to get to one of the top three snorkeling locations on the island. We had one small problem with the refrigerator, and the property management company addressed it immediately. They even called back to thank us for alerting them to the problem and see if we were satisfied that it had been resolved. We highly recommend this vacation rental.

    • Manager Responded on 1/19/2018

      Mahalo for your response! We so appreciate your feed back and I am sure other renters of the home will as well. We encourage you to return to take advantage of our returning customer discount!

  •  
  • A Family Christmas Vacation Away from the Cold

    Stayed 7 days ending in December, 2017

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    a guest from Haddonfield, NJ recommends this vacation rental

    Overall, we were pleased with the property -- especially the thoughtful landscaping, the gorgeous view from the deck, and the optimal location. The short proximity to snorkeling at Kahalu'u Beach can't be beat, and the house offered an ease of getting from the house to points north/south from Kona. I wish I had known in advance about the upstairs/downstairs set-up, which was not clear to me from the online description. This type of house might be ideal for two couples, but it proved a bit challenging for a family, as it meant our children had to stay alone on a different floor from us. Please consider advertising that more clearly. The pool being unheated meant we could not use it for several of the days because of the colder temperatures, which was a bit of a disappointment. Also, the owners may want to offer more guest-friendly amenities like board games, snorkeling gear/towels, and kitchen staples/supplies. (For example: There were only 3 regular sized beach towels, and no snorkeling sets.)

    • Manager Responded on 1/11/2018

      Thank you for taking the time to review your experience with us! I am sorry to hear you found the property description to be ambiguous, we have since altered it for more clarity. As for the beach gear, we have a supply of those amenities in the laundry room, however it is ever changing as it is something the owner of the home does not supply but rather the previous guests. I am a bit surprised to hear the pool temperature was not within a comfortable range for you and your family, however this season can be a bit cooler in the evening hours. We encourage you to return to the Big Island and consider Boundless Hawaii so we may offer you a returning client discount.

  •  
  • Wonderful Stay

    Stayed 5 days ending in December, 2017

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    Yvonne T from Corvallis, MT recommends this vacation rental

    We traveled with another couple. It was great with the 2 private masters. Loved the grounds and the relaxed feeling. Will come back and already miss the geckos.

    • Manager Responded on 12/20/2017

      Thank you for your wonderful review! We love when guests share details to enhance the next guest's experience. We're happy that you enjoyed your time; we would love to host you for your next visit. Please stay with us again for a 10% discount as a returning guest!

  •  
  • Great spot on Kona

    Stayed 5 days ending in October, 2017

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    Michael N from San Diego, CA recommends this vacation rental

    Wonderful stay across from Kahal'u State Park. Private pool nice for cooling off in the afternoons. A/C in the bedrooms for comfortable night sleeping.

    • Manager Responded on 10/31/2017

      Thank you for visiting the Kahalu'u Hale! We're happy that you enjoyed your time in the home, a little AC certainly helps on warm nights. We would be happy to host you for your next visit, please let us know when you return to Kona and we will gladly offer a 10% discount.

  •  
  • Overall great rental property

    Stayed 5 days ending in September, 2017

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    a guest from Seattle, WA recommends this vacation rental

    Good central location for the activities we wanted to take part in. It was nice and quiet, pretty private lot. We were able to go to sleep and wake up to the sound of birds in the trees around us which was great.

    The deck was nice, good for watching sunsets.

    The laundry room was an added bonus.

    My only complaint is that one of the bathrooms attached to a bedroom didn't have a door.

    • Manager Responded on 10/31/2017

      Aloha and mahalo for taking the time to leave your review. This home is very special in the way that it offers visitors a peaceful and uniquely Hawaii experience without leaving town! We are happy that you enjoyed your time and would love to host you for your next trip. Please let us know when you return to redeem your 10% discount.

  •  
Getting your rate Getting your rate...
1. Select Your Dates to Check Availability

Click calendar to set checkin/checkout dates. clear calendar

 Unavailable  Selected  Available  Checkin only  Checkout only
2. Review Dates and Rates

Select/Confirm the number of travelers to get a rate quote.

: :
Base Rent:
Fees & Taxes:*
Total Price:
:
:
*Click 'Continue Booking' to view details of fees & taxes

To request information about booking this vacation rental, please fill out the form below.


Sorry, we encountered the following error(s):

  • Unable to process request.
loading Sending Email...
Your email has been sent successfully!

Sorry, we encountered the following error(s):

  • Unable to process request.
loading Sending Email...
Your email has been sent successfully!
19.581332,-155.966125

Boundless Hawaii, LLC 75-5865 Walua Road Suite F1 Kailua Kona, Hawaii 96740 +1 (877) 782-5662 reservations@boundlesshawaii.com

© 1999 - 2018 | Powered By Escapia Vacation Rental Software | Terms of Use

Logon